(c) 2007-2020 Derek  W. Logue. No part of this website may be used in any way without expressed written consent of the site owner.
STATE ID CARD/ DRIVER’S LICENSE LAWS
Derek W. Logue of OnceFallen.com
Published 28 June 2020
, Updated 5 July 2020

State issued Identification Cards or Driver’s Licenses (ID/DLs) are the most commonly carried and used means to prove one’s
identity, so placing marks on state-issued identification cards can potentially cause problems. We show our State ID/DLs when we
write or cash a check, open up a bank account, applying for credit, vote, buy certain products (such as beer or tobacco), pick up a
prescription, go to a club for adults, sign up various services, getting a job, board a plane, or entering many government or private
buildings. Only a handful of states place distinguishable marks of infamy on State ID/DLs. Some states may limit the validity of a
registrant’s State ID/DL to a single year, forcing registered persons to pay more over time for identification than the average citizen.

SUMMARY OF STATUTES

The states listed below have specific regulations regarding State ID/DLs for Registered Persons. This does not imply there are no
regulations in states not listed below; here it means there are no existing state laws in place:

  • States that mark State ID/DLs: AL, AZ, DE, FL, KS, LA, MS, OK, TN, UT, VA (only on certain CDLs), WV
  • States requiring annual State ID/L renewals: AZ, IL, KS, MS (quarterly), NV, OK, TX
  • Those not marking cards or requiring annual renewals, but still requiring IDs to be current (meaning must update if move):
    IN, MI, UT
  • States that will not grant license without proof of adherence to Sex Offense Registration laws: MA, NC

Alabama: In response to Doe v. Marshall, 2:15-CV-606-WKW, Alabama State ID/DLs no longer have “Criminal Sex Offender”
printed on the front; it has been replaced by a letter designation (Code of Ala. 15-20A-18). Also, a registrant may be required to carry
a special ID card made by the Sheriff’s office and both must be presented when approached by authorities.

Arizona: Registrants must renew their licenses annually (ARS 13-3821(J)). According to the AZ DPS, State ID/DLs have an
identifying mark that trained law enforcement would recognize as belonging to a registrant.

Delaware: Places a “Y” designation on a registrant’s State ID/DL, with $5 fee for replacing prior license. (21 DE Code §2718(e,f)).

Florida: Registrants must update their state ID/DLs within 48 hours of initial registration or change of address. (Fla. Stat. Ann. 775.21
(6)(f) to (g)(1); F.S. 943.0435). If you are classified as a “Sexual Predator,” your card will have “Sexual Predator” spelled out on the
front while those designated “sexual offender” have “943.0435, F.S.” listed in this area. (F.S. 322.141)

Illinois: State IDs/DLs are only valid 12 months, requiring annual renewal (625 ILCS 5/6-115). Does not mark ID/DL.

Indiana:  You must have and keep with you a valid driver’s license or state issued identification card from your state of residence.
Your driver’s license or state issued identification card MUST contain your CURRENT address and physical description. (Does not
mark licenses or require annual renewals, however.)( IC 11-8-8-15)

Kansas: Required to renew State ID/DL annually, and marks the cards to identify registry status. (K.S. 8-1325a)

Louisiana: Marks State ID/DLs with “Sex Offender” in orange letters, and requires annual in-person renewal, thus not allowing
ID/DL renewals by mail (LRS 32:412(I); LRS 40:1321). Registrants are disqualified from obtaining free ID cards (LRS 40:1321(H)).

Massachusetts: Registrar of Motor Vehicles can suspend or reject renewal of valid State ID/DL if the SO Registry Board determines
you are not complying with registration laws (MGL. Ch. 90, Sec 22(j)).

Michigan: No marks on State ID/DL but must keep the cards current.

Mississippi: Registrants ages six and above (MCA 45-35-3) must report to the Drivers’ License station quarterly to obtain a new “sex
offender card” (MCA 45-33-31; 63-1-35). Based on news articles, it appears “sex offender” is written on the card.

Nevada: Does not mark State ID/DLs, but all State ID/DL/CDL must be renewed annually. (NRS 483.283; NRS 483.861; NRS
483.929)

North Carolina: Will not issue a State ID/DL unless registrant has proven registration has been completed within the state (NC Gen.
Stat. 20-9; 20-37.7). Does not mark State ID/DLs or require annual renewals.

Oklahoma: State ID/DL cards of registered persons will be marked with the words “Sex Offender” (OK Stat § 47-6-111). Must be
renewed annually, with costs the same as a regular license. (OK Stat. § 47-6-105.3; 47-6-115).

Tennessee: State ID/DLs are marked with a special mark known only to law enforcement (TCA 55-50-353), and registrants must
carry this marked State ID/DL at all times (TCA 40-39-213).

Texas: State ID/ DLs must be renewed annually (Tex. Code Crim. Proc Art. 62.060)

Utah: Requires registrant to keep state ID/DL current (Utah Code 53-3-806.5); no special mark is placed on the card nor are required
to renew annually.


Virginia: State ID/DLs can be issued up to 8 years for the general public, but those issued to RCs expire at the state minimum of 5
years. (Code of Va. § 46.2-330); if you obtain a CDL for passenger transport, you will receive a "Q" restriction preventing you from
driving a bus for schools/ day cares.


West Virginia: Those considered SVPs have must have a special mark on State ID/DL cards. (WV Code §17B-2-3) According to the
DMV, the mark is a “U” designation (for “Sexual Deviant”) under the “License Restrictions” section. (See page 12 of the WV DMV
Driver’s manual, accessed 27 June 2020 at https://transportation.wv.gov/DMV/DMVFormSearch/Drivers_Licensing_Handbook_web.
pdf)

Federal: Those convicted of “covered sex offenses” (i.e., against anyone under age 18 and currently required to register) can only
obtain a passport with an endorsement, currently printed inside the back cover of the passport book, which reads: “The bearer was
convicted of a sex offense against a minor, and is a covered sex offender pursuant to 22 United States Code Section 212b(c)(l).”
(See 22 USC 212b) Since endorsements cannot be printed on passport cards, covered sex offenders cannot be issued passport cards.

LEGAL SUMMARY

There have not been many challenges to the driver’s license requirements. The Oklahoma Supreme Court ruled marking State
ID/DLs resemble a form of punishment but rejected a later argument that it was cruel and unusual punishment. Alabama initially
rejected an argument te state ID/DLs constituted punishment. However, in a 2017 ruling, the words “Criminal Sex Offender” printed
in red on the front of Alabama’s State ID/DL card was determined to be unconstitutionally compelled speech; The offensive
statement on the front of the card has since been replaced with a letter designation on the back of the card. While I do not believe
even a single letter improves this ID mark issue (after all, the Nazis only used a single letter against the Jewish people), at least the
statement is less prominent than it had been in the past. Furthermore, the argument used in the Alabama case (which utilized the US
Supreme Court case of Wooley v Maynard, which involved compelled government speech) could be used on a similar proposal,
namely, Green car tags for Registered Persons.

Starkey v. Okla. Dep’t of Corr., 305 P.3d 1004, 1030 (Okla. 2013)  

In a case involving the totality of Oklahoma’s new law passed to align with the federal Adam Walsh Act, the Oklahoma Supreme
Court determined, “[Oklahoma’s] SORA is different from the ASORA reviewed by the Supreme Court in Smith v. Doe. As an
example of potential ‘shaming,’ Oklahoma law requires certain offenders to have the words “Sex Offender” placed on his or her
driver's license. This requirement is predicated upon SORA registration. Showing one's driver's license is frequently necessary in
face-to-face encounters when cashing a check, using a credit card, applying for credit, obtaining a job, entering some public
buildings, and in air travel as a few examples. This subjects an offender to unnecessary public humiliation and shame and is
essentially a label not unlike a ‘scarlet letter.’… The wide dissemination of the sex offender's information and the displaying of the
word “Sex Offender” on a driver's license is at least analogous to the traditional punishment of shaming. The expulsion from one's
residence is likewise analogous to the traditional punishment of banishment. Again, we are not making a determination of the
constitutionality of any of these individual registration requirements but for purposes of analyzing the second Mendoza–Martinez
factor we find the totality of these requirements weigh in favor of punishment.”

“It is also important to note that many of the “restraints” identified by Starkey, such as having the words ‘sex offender’ placed on
the driver's license of certain sex offenders, as required by 47 O.S.2011, § 6–111(D)(1), do not originate in OSORA. That statute,
like several others generally mentioned by offenders, is not a part of OSORA which is the specific Act challenged by Starkey.”

In other words, the Oklahoma Supreme Court recognized the act of marking State ID/DLs with a mark of infamy as at least
resembling a traditional punishment, but since this mark was not a part of the law being challenged, the Court refused to elaborate
further.

McGuire v. Luther Strange in His Official Capacity, 83 F. Supp. 3d 1231 (M.D. Ala. 2015)

The court found that the branded-identification requirement is not "punishment" and thus is not an ex post facto law. The branded-ID
requirement is not punitive because it is not similar enough to traditional "public shaming." Though the requirement is humiliating,
defendants in colonial times were "without any power to contain or control the extent or timing of the humiliation."  ASORCNA
registrants, by contrast, "have some degree of control over when and where to present identification." The court thus rejected an ex
post facto challenge to the branded-ID requirement. At the same time, however, the court recognized that "there may be other
constitutional concerns with requiring registrants to carry a branded license."

Carney v. Oklahoma Dept. of Public Safety, No. 16-6276 (10th Cir. 2017)

The 10th Circuit affirmed a US District Court ruling upholding Oklahoma’s State ID/DL marks against a challenge based on 8th and
14th Amendment arguments. Carney had also attempted to argue 1st Amendment rights but was rejected as had not been raised
during lower court proceedings.

On the 8th Amendment challenge, the Court stated, “Because the license requirement is not cruel and unusual, we need not consider
whether it is penal in nature…  Indeed, the Supreme Court has upheld a life sentence for three theft-based felonies totaling a loss of
about $230… The license requirement is certainly not more disproportionate than these examples. Moreover, there are no risks of
incarceration or threats of physical harm.”

On the 14th Amendment challenge, the Court noted, “Mr. Carney, an aggravated sex offender, cannot state an equal protection claim
because he is not similarly situated to ordinary sex offenders and others that are required to enroll in public registries. He also has not
shown that he is being treated differently than other aggravated sex offenders. Thus, he cannot make an equal protection claim under
the Fourteenth Amendment because he cannot satisfy the similarly situated requirement…  Mr. Carney is correct that he is not being
treated equally; he has to have a sex-offender driver’s license and they do not.”

“However, the Oklahoma legislature’s findings provide a rational basis for the license requirement. Oklahoma enacted its Sex
Offender Registration Act after making three findings: (1) “that sex offenders who commit other predatory acts against children and
persons who prey on others as a result of mental illness pose a high risk of reoffending after release from custody”; (2) “that the
privacy interest of persons adjudicated guilty of these crimes is less important than the state’s interest in public safety”; and (3) “that
a system of registration will permit law enforcement officials to identify and alert the public when necessary for protecting the public
safety.” Okla. Stat. tit. 57, § 581(B). These findings support the license requirement.”

“Finally, Mr. Carney argues that heightened rational basis should apply to sex offenders because they make up an unpopular and
underrepresented part of society… Mr. Carney asserts that the license requirement was enacted out of animus toward aggravated sex
offenders. But we do not find the sort of structural aberrations needed to trigger heightened rational basis review. The license
requirement is not ‘wide-ranging’ or novel and does not serve “just to eliminate a privilege a group would otherwise receive.” Bishop,
760 F.3d at 1100 (Holmes, J., concurring). More specifically, this law limits only a very narrow right: the right to a state
identification that does not indicate a person is a sex offender. Thus, it does not “sweep broadly.” Id. at 1108. It also cannot be seen
as “unusual,” because the license requirement does not stray from what state governments do each and every day: communicate
important information about its citizens on state-issued IDs.”

Doe v. Marshall, CASE NO. 2:15-CV-606-WKW [WO] (M.D. Ala. Feb. 11, 2019)

In this case, the Court ruled against the state DL/ID marks on First Amendment grounds but rejected a 14th Amendment argument.

Citing a four-part test derived from Wooley v. Maynard, 430 U.S. 705 (1977), a case in which forcing NH residents to have the state’
s “Live Free or Die” motto on license plates was considered compelled speech, the Court held:

  1. Speech: “First, just as the Court in Wooley ‘had no trouble’ finding that ‘Live Free or Die’ was speech, neither does this court
    have trouble finding that ‘CRIMINAL SEX OFFENDER’ is speech.” … Just as Wooley applies to compelled statements of
    fact, it also applies to government speech. The message here is indeed government speech. After all, the State issues the ID
    cards and controls what is printed on them… But the fact that a license is government speech does not mean it is immune
    from the compelled speech analysis.”
  2. To which the plaintiff objects: “Second, Plaintiffs do not agree that they are ‘criminal sex offenders.’ Though even a minor
    disagreement with a message is enough for constitutional purposes… Plaintiffs strongly object to the message here.”
  3. That is compelled: “Third, Plaintiffs are compelled to display the offensive message. Plaintiffs are legally required to keep their
    ID ‘in [their] possession’ at all times. They cannot have any non-branded ID issued ‘by a state motor vehicle agency.’ State-
    issued photo ID is a virtual necessity these days. One must show ID to enter some businesses, to cash checks, to get a job, to
    buy certain items, and more.”
  4. That is readily associated with the plaintiff: “The words ‘CRIMINAL SEX OFFENDER’ are about Plaintiffs. The ID cards are
    chock-full of Plaintiffs' personal information: their full name, photograph, date of birth, home address, sex, height, weight,
    hair color, eye color, and signature. Just as George Maynard was associated with his station wagon, Plaintiffs are associated
    with their licenses. When people see the brand on Plaintiffs' IDs, they associate it with Plaintiffs. The dirty looks that Plaintiffs
    get are not directed at the State.”

“The State likens the words on Plaintiffs' IDs to the national motto, "In God We Trust," on U.S. currency. Several courts recently
held that engraving that motto on currency is not compelled speech, reasoning that the motto is attributed only to the government and
that no one must display currency. But currency is not personalized; it says not a word about the person who holds it. Nor is
currency displayed; it is exchanged. Hundreds of people may spend the same dollar bill. Identification cards, by contrast, are
personalized.
They are meant to convey substantive personal information about their holders. They are meant to be displayed, never to be given
away.”

Because it compels speech, ASORCNA's branded identification requirement … must pass strict scrutiny. That means the State must
have a compelling interest, and it must have adopted the least restrictive means of achieving that interest… Alabama has not adopted
the least restrictive means of achieving that interest. By using ‘CRIMINAL SEX OFFENDER’ instead of a single letter, the State goes
beyond what is necessary to achieve its asserted interest. Both the Secretary of the Alabama Law Enforcement Agency and the
Director of the Alabama Department of Public Safety agree that the State could use a single letter to designate sex offenders. The
Director of Public Safety also agrees that law enforcement officers would know what that single letter meant. Yet the general public
most likely would not know what that single letter meant. Thus, using one letter would keep officers informed while reducing the
unnecessary disclosure of information to others.”

“Because Alabama has not used the least restrictive means of advancing its interest, Alabama Code §
15-20A-18, as applied by the State, is unconstitutional.”

This argument may be useful in the future against similar government marks, such as proposals for green car tags. While the idea
was bandied by a few states in 2007 (Ohio, Wisconsin, and Alabama), Republican Ohio Senator Tim Schaffer introduced SB 217 to
revive the green car tag idea. It is also possible this argument could be used against some laws or actions by authorities requiring
signs in yards.

APPENDIX: STATE STATUTES AS OF 5 JULY 2020

ALABAMA

Section 15-20A-18

Adult sex offender - Identification requirements.

(a) Every adult sex offender who is a resident of this state shall obtain from the Alabama State Law Enforcement Agency, and
always have in his or her possession, a valid driver license or identification card issued by the Alabama State Law Enforcement
Agency. If any adult sex offender is ineligible to be issued a driver license or official identification card, the Alabama State Law
Enforcement Agency shall provide the adult sex offender some other form of identification card or documentation that, if it is kept in
the possession of the adult sex offender, shall satisfy the requirements of this section. If any adult sex offender is determined to be
indigent, an identification card, or other form of identification or documentation that satisfies the requirements of this section, shall be
issued to the adult sex offender at no cost. Indigence shall be determined by order of the court prior to each issuance of a driver
license or identification card.

(b) The adult sex offender shall obtain from the Alabama State Law Enforcement Agency a valid driver license or identification card
bearing a designation that enables law enforcement officers to identify the licensee as a sex offender within 14 days of his or her
initial registration following release, initial registration upon entering the state to become a resident, or immediately following his or
her next registration after July 1, 2011.

(c) Whenever the Alabama State Law Enforcement Agency issues or renews a driver license or identification card to an adult sex
offender, the driver license or identification card shall bear a designation that, at a minimum, enables law enforcement officers to
identify the licensee as a sex offender.

(d) Upon obtaining or renewing a driver license or identification card bearing a designation that enables law enforcement officers to
identify the licensee as a sex offender, the adult sex offender shall relinquish to the Alabama State Law Enforcement Agency any
other driver license or identification card previously issued to him or her by a state motor vehicle agency which does not bear any
designation enabling law enforcement officers to identify the licensee as a sex offender. Nothing in this section shall require an adult
sex offender to relinquish, or preclude an adult sex offender from possessing, any form of identification issued to him or her by an
entity other than a state motor vehicle agency, including, but not limited to, the United States, a federal department or agency, a
municipal or county government entity, an educational institution, or a private employer.

(e) No adult sex offender shall mutilate, mar, change, reproduce, alter, deface, disfigure, or otherwise change the form of any driver
license or identification card which is issued to the adult sex offender by the Alabama State Law Enforcement Agency and which
bears any designation enabling law enforcement officers to identify the licensee as a sex offender. An adult sex offender having in his
or her possession a driver license or identification card issued to him or her by the Alabama State Law Enforcement Agency bearing
any designation enabling law enforcement officers to identify the licensee as a sex offender which has been mutilated, marred,
changed, reproduced, altered, defaced, disfigured, or otherwise changed shall be prima facie evidence that he or she has violated this
section.

(f) Any person who knowingly violates this section shall be guilty of a Class C felony.

ARIZONA

Arizona Dept. of Public Safety’s SO FAQ Page:

Are all sex offenders required to obtain a special Arizona drivers license or identification credential?
Yes, all sex offenders are required to obtain a credential from the MVD. The credential which is obtained annually, looks identical to
any other license except when a law enforcement official checks the status of the credential it indicates that the individual is subject
to sex offender registration. Failure to obtain this credential is a Class 6 felony with a mandatory $250 assessment.

ARS 13-3821(J) - On the person's initial registration and every year after the person's initial registration, the person shall confirm any
required online identifier and the name of any website or internet communication service where the identifier is being used and the
person shall obtain a new nonoperating identification license or a driver license from the motor vehicle division in the department of
transportation and shall carry a valid nonoperating identification license or a driver license.  Notwithstanding sections 28-3165 and 28-
3171, the license is valid for one year from the date of issuance, and the person shall submit to the department of transportation
proof of the person's address and place of residence. The motor vehicle division shall annually update the person's address and
photograph and shall make a copy of the photograph available to the department of public safety or to any law enforcement agency.
The motor vehicle division shall provide to the department of public safety daily address updates for persons required to register
pursuant to this section.

DELAWARE

Del. Code Ann. Tit. 21, S 2718

(e) If an applicant is required to register as a sex offender pursuant to § 4120 of Title 11, as amended, for a felony conviction the
sentencing court shall take possession of the driver's license and shall tender to the person being sentenced a temporary license,
directing that the person report to the Division of Motor Vehicle for a replacement driver's license with the following code under
restrictions: Y indicating sex offender. The person shall tender to the Division of Motor Vehicle a fee of $5.00 for the replacement
license. Upon a person being removed from the registration requirement, the Division of Motor Vehicle shall issue a license without
the sex offender code printed upon the license at no charge. The sentencing court shall forward to the Division all licenses that it
receives, along with a copy of the sentencing order.

(f) Failure to comply with subsection (e) of this section within 30 days of a qualifying felony conviction pursuant to § 4120 of Title
11 will result in the suspension of driving privileges by the Division of Motor Vehicles.

Statement from DMV, accessed on 27 June 2020 (https://www.dmv.de.gov/DriverServices/drivers_license/index.shtml?
dc=dr_frm_idcardback)

Megan's Law/Sex Offenders: By signing the driver license or identification card application form, applicants acknowledge that the
Division of Motor Vehicles has notified them that registration in compliance with Section 4120 of Title 11, Delaware law, is
mandatory for any person who has been convicted in any state of any offense which if committed or attempted in this State, would
have been punishable as one or more of the offenses referenced in Section 4120(a) of Title 11, and that such registration must occur
within seven days of coming into any country, city or town in which he/she temporarily resides or is domiciled for that length of
time. This form will be permanently retained. There is a $5.00 fee to add the “Y” restriction.

FLORIDA

Fla. Stat. Ann. 775.21(6)(f) to (g)(1)

(f) Within 48 hours after the registration required under paragraph (a) or paragraph (e), a sexual predator who is not incarcerated
and who resides in the community, including a sexual predator under the supervision of the Department of Corrections, shall register
in person at a driver license office of the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles and shall present proof of registration
unless a driver license or an identification card that complies with the requirements of s. 322.141(3) was previously secured or
updated under s. 944.607. At the driver license office the sexual predator shall:
1. If otherwise qualified, secure a Florida driver license, renew a Florida driver license, or secure an identification card. The sexual
predator shall identify himself or herself as a sexual predator who is required to comply with this section, provide his or her place of
permanent, temporary, or transient residence, including a rural route address and a post office box, and submit to the taking of a
photograph for use in issuing a driver license, a renewed license, or an identification card, and for use by the department in
maintaining current records of sexual predators. A post office box may not be provided in lieu of a physical residential address. If the
sexual predator’s place of residence is a motor vehicle, trailer, mobile home, or manufactured home, as defined in chapter 320, the
sexual predator shall also provide to the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles the vehicle identification number; the
license tag number; the registration number; and a description, including color scheme, of the motor vehicle, trailer, mobile home, or
manufactured home. If a sexual predator’s place of residence is a vessel, live-aboard vessel, or houseboat, as defined in chapter 327,
the sexual predator shall also provide to the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles the hull identification number; the
manufacturer’s serial number; the name of the vessel, live-aboard vessel, or houseboat; the registration number; and a description,
including color scheme, of the vessel, live-aboard vessel, or houseboat.
2. Pay the costs assessed by the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles for issuing or renewing a driver license or an
identification card as required by this section. The driver license or identification card issued to the sexual predator must comply with
s. 322.141(3).
3. Provide, upon request, any additional information necessary to confirm the identity of the sexual predator, including a set of
fingerprints.
(g)1. Each time a sexual predator’s driver license or identification card is subject to renewal, and, without regard to the status of
the predator’s driver license or identification card, within 48 hours after any change of the predator’s residence or change in the
predator’s name by reason of marriage or other legal process, the predator shall report in person to a driver license office and is
subject to the requirements specified in paragraph (f). The Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles shall forward to the
department and to the Department of Corrections all photographs and information provided by sexual predators. Notwithstanding the
restrictions set forth in s. 322.142, the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles may release a reproduction of a color-
photograph or digital-image license to the Department of Law Enforcement for purposes of public notification of sexual predators as
provided in this section. A sexual predator who is unable to secure or update a driver license or an identification card with the
Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles as provided in paragraph (f) and this paragraph shall also report any change of
the predator’s residence or change in the predator’s name by reason of marriage or other legal process within 48 hours after the
change to the sheriff’s office in the county where the predator resides or is located and provide confirmation that he or she reported
such information to the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles. The reporting requirements under this subparagraph do
not negate the requirement for a sexual predator to obtain a Florida driver license or identification card as required by this section.

F.S. 943.0435

(3) Within 48 hours after the report required under subsection (2), a sexual offender shall report in person at a driver license office
of the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles, unless a driver license or identification card that complies with the
requirements of s. 322.141(3) was previously secured or updated under s. 944.607. At the driver license office the sexual offender
shall:
(a) If otherwise qualified, secure a Florida driver license, renew a Florida driver license, or secure an identification card. The sexual
offender shall identify himself or herself as a sexual offender who is required to comply with this section and shall provide proof that
the sexual offender reported as required in subsection (2). The sexual offender shall provide any of the information specified in
subsection (2), if requested. The sexual offender shall submit to the taking of a photograph for use in issuing a driver license,
renewed license, or identification card, and for use by the department in maintaining current records of sexual offenders.
(b) Pay the costs assessed by the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles for issuing or renewing a driver license or
identification card as required by this section. The driver license or identification card issued must be in compliance with s. 322.141
(3).
(c) Provide, upon request, any additional information necessary to confirm the identity of the sexual offender, including a set of
fingerprints.
(4)(a) Each time a sexual offender’s driver license or identification card is subject to renewal, and, without regard to the status of
the offender’s driver license or identification card, within 48 hours after any change in the offender’s permanent, temporary, or
transient residence or change in the offender’s name by reason of marriage or other legal process, the offender shall report in person
to a driver license office, and is subject to the requirements specified in subsection (3). The Department of Highway Safety and
Motor Vehicles shall forward to the department all photographs and information provided by sexual offenders. Notwithstanding the
restrictions set forth in s. 322.142, the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles may release a reproduction of a color-
photograph or digital-image license to the Department of Law Enforcement for purposes of public notification of sexual offenders as
provided in this section and ss. 943.043 and 944.606. A sexual offender who is unable to secure or update a driver license or an
identification card with the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles as provided in subsection (3) and this subsection shall
also report any change in the sexual offender’s permanent, temporary, or transient residence or change in the offender’s name by
reason of marriage or other legal process within 48 hours after the change to the sheriff’s office in the county where the offender
resides or is located and provide confirmation that he or she reported such information to the Department of Highway Safety and
Motor Vehicles. The reporting requirements under this paragraph do not negate the requirement for a sexual offender to obtain a
Florida driver license or an identification card as required in this section.

F.S. 322.141

(3) All licenses for the operation of motor vehicles or identification cards originally issued or reissued by the department to persons
who are designated as sexual predators under s. 775.21 or subject to registration as sexual offenders under s. 943.0435 or s.
944.607, or who have a similar designation or are subject to a similar registration under the laws of another jurisdiction, shall have on
the front of the license or identification card the following:
(a) For a person designated as a sexual predator under s. 775.21 or who has a similar designation under the laws of another
jurisdiction, the marking “SEXUAL PREDATOR.”
(b) For a person subject to registration as a sexual offender under s. 943.0435 or s. 944.607, or subject to a similar registration
under the laws of another jurisdiction, the marking “943.0435, F.S.”
(4) Unless previously secured or updated, each sexual offender and sexual predator shall report to the department during the month
of his or her reregistration as required under s. 775.21(8), s. 943.0435(14), or s. 944.607(13) in order to obtain an updated or
renewed driver license or identification card as required by subsection (3).

ILLINOIS

625 ILCS 5/6-115

(i) The Secretary of State shall provide that each driver's license issued to a person convicted of a sex offense as defined in Section 2
of the Sex Offender Registration Act shall expire 12 months from the date of issuance or at such date as the Secretary may by rule
designate, not to exceed an additional 12 calendar months. The Secretary may adopt rules defining renewal requirements.

INDIANA

IC 11-8-8-15        Possession of valid Indiana driver's license or identification card required
   
(a) A sex or violent offender who is a resident of Indiana shall obtain and keep in the sex or violent offender's possession:

(1) a valid Indiana driver's license; or
(2) a valid Indiana identification card (as described in IC 9-24-16) or a photo exempt identification card (as described in IC 9-24-
16.5); that contains the offender's current address and current physical description.

(b) A sex or violent offender required to register in Indiana who is not a resident of Indiana shall obtain and keep in the sex or violent
offender's possession:

(1) a valid driver's license issued by the state in which the sex or violent offender resides; or
(2) a valid state issued identification card issued by the state in which the sex or violent offender resides;
that contains the offender's current address and current physical description.

(c) A person who knowingly or intentionally violates this section commits failure of a sex or violent offender to possess
identification, a Class A misdemeanor. However, the offense is a Level 6 felony if the person:

(1) is a sexually violent predator; or
(2) has a prior unrelated conviction:

(A) under this section; or
(B) based on the person's failure to comply with any requirement imposed on an offender under this chapter.

(d) It is a defense to a prosecution under this section that:

(1) the person has been unable to obtain a valid driver's license, state issued identification card, or photo exempt identification card
because less than thirty (30) days have passed since the person's release from incarceration;
(2) the person possesses a driver's license, state issued identification card, or photo exempt identification card that expired not more
than thirty (30) days before the date the person violated subsection (a) or (b); or
(3) the person possesses a valid driver's license, state issued identification card, or photo exempt identification card, but the card
does not reflect the person's current address or current physical description because fewer than thirty (30) days have passed since
the person changed the person's current address or physical characteristics.

KANSAS

K.S. 8-1325a. - Same; registered offender; expiration; renewal; distinguishable.

(a) Notwithstanding the provisions of K.S.A. 8-1325 and 8-1329, and amendments thereto, an identification card issued to an
offender, as defined in K.S.A. 22-4902, and amendments thereto, who is required to register pursuant to the Kansas offender
registration act, K.S.A. 22-4901 et seq., and amendments thereto, shall expire on the first birthday of the applicant following the date
of original issue. Renewal of any identification card issued under this section shall be made for a term of one year and shall expire in
a like manner as the originally issued identification card, unless surrendered earlier.

(b) Identification cards issued under this section shall be readily distinguishable indicating that such person is a registered offender.

(c) Identification cards issued under this section shall comply with all other provisions of K.S.A. 8-1324 through 8-1333, and
amendments thereto.

LOUISIANA

LRS 32:412(I)
(1) The Louisiana driver's license, regardless of its class, issued to any person who is required to register as a sex offender pursuant
to R.S. 15:542 and R.S. 15:542.1 shall contain a restriction code which declares that the license holder is a sex offender. The
secretary of the Department of Public Safety and Corrections shall comply with the provisions of this Subsection and the driver's
license shall include the words "sex offender" which shall be orange in color.

(2) Any person to whom this Subsection applies shall carry upon his person the last driver's license issued to him.

(3) The department shall issue a license required pursuant to this Subsection for a period of one year. When the department issues a
license pursuant to this Subsection the license shall be valid for a period of one year from the date of issuance.

(4) Any person to whom this Subsection applies shall personally appear at a motor vehicle field office to renew his driver's license
every year, in addition to the yearly reregistration pursuant to R.S. 15:542 et seq. Reregistration shall include the submission of
current information to the department and the verification of registration information, including the street address and telephone
number of the registrant; name, street address and telephone number of the registrant's employer, and any other registration
information that may need to be verified. Upon successful completion of reregistration, the bureau shall electronically transmit this
fact to the office of motor vehicles which may then proceed to renew the driver's license. In order to reimburse the office of motor
vehicles for the cost of a yearly issuance, the regular renewal fee shall be collected at each renewal pursuant to this Subsection.

(5) The provisions of this Subsection shall apply to all registered sex offenders regardless of the date of conviction.

LRS 40:1321

H. Persons who are residents of this state and who are sixty years of age or older may obtain a special identification card without
charge. This provision shall not apply to the special identification card required to be obtained by a sex offender pursuant to
Subsection J of this Section. Special identification cards issued under the provisions of this Subsection shall not be subject to the
expiration provisions or the renewal requirements of this Section.

J.(1) Any person required to register as a sex offender with the Louisiana Bureau of Criminal Identification and Information, as
required by R.S. 15:542 et seq., shall obtain a special identification card issued by the Department of Public Safety and Corrections
which shall contain a restriction code declaring that the holder is a sex offender. This special identification card shall include the
words "sex offender" in all capital letters which are orange in color and shall be valid for a period of one year from the date of
issuance. This special identification card shall be carried on the person at all times by the individual required to register as a sex
offender.

(2) Each person required to carry a special identification card pursuant to this Subsection shall personally appear, annually, at a field
office of the office of motor vehicles to renew his or her special identification card but only after he or she has registered as an
offender pursuant to R.S. 15:542 et seq. Reregistration shall include the submission of current information to the department and the
verification of this information, which shall include the street address and telephone number of the registrant; the name, street
address and telephone number of the registrant's employer, and any registration information that may need to be verified by the
bureau. No special identification card shall be issued or renewed until the office of motor vehicles receives confirmation from the
bureau, electronically or by other means, that the reregistration of the sex offender has been completed.

(3) The provisions of this Subsection shall apply to all sex offenders required to register pursuant to R.S. 15:542 et seq., regardless
of the date of conviction.

(4) Whoever violates this Subsection shall be fined not less than one hundred dollars and not more than five hundred dollars, or
imprisoned for not more than six months, or both.

MASSACHUSETTS

Mass. Gen. Laws Ann. ch. 90, S 22(j)

(j) Upon receipt of notice, as specified by the registrar, from the sex offender registry board, that a sex offender has failed to comply
with the registration requirements of sections 178C to 178P, inclusive, of chapter 6, the registrar shall suspend or prohibit issuance
or renewal of a license, learner's permit, right to operate a motor vehicle or certificate of motor vehicle registration held by such sex
offender. The sex offender shall receive notice that the registrar shall suspend or prohibit renewal of such a license, learner's permit,
right to operate a motor vehicle or certificate of motor vehicle registration in 90 days due to his failure to comply with the registration
requirements of said sections 178C to 178P, inclusive, of said chapter 6, unless the sex offender furnishes proof to the registrar that
he has complied with his sex offender registration requirements. A sex offender whose license, learner's permit, right to operate a
motor vehicle or certificate of motor vehicle registration has been suspended due to his failure to comply with the registration
requirements of said sections 178C to 178P, inclusive of said chapter 6 may petition for reinstatement of his license, learner's permit,
right to operate a motor vehicle or certificate of motor vehicle registration at any time if he produces sufficient proof, as determined
by the registrar, that he is in compliance with his sex offender registration requirements. The registrar shall promulgate regulations to
implement this subsection, which shall include the opportunity for a hearing to challenge the lack of sex offender registration
compliance. If a hearing is requested, the sex offender registry board shall be notified of the time, place, date of hearing and the
identity of the sex offender. An affidavit from the sex offender registry board may be introduced as prima facie evidence of the lack
of sex offender registration compliance and members or employees of the sex offender registry board need not attend any hearings
held under this subsection.

MICHIGAN

MCL 28.725a Notice to registered individual; explanation of duties; reporting requirements.

(7) An individual required to be registered under this act shall maintain either a valid operator's or chauffeur's license issued under the
Michigan vehicle code, 1949 PA 300, MCL 257.1 to 257.923, or an official state personal identification card issued under 1972 PA
222, MCL 28.291 to 28.300, with the individual's current address. The license or card may be used as proof of domicile or residence
under this section. In addition, the officer or authorized employee may require the individual to produce another document bearing his
or her name and address, including, but not limited to, voter registration or a utility or other bill. The department may specify other
satisfactory proof of domicile or residence.

MISSISSIPPI

Miss. Code Ann. § 45-33-31 (2013)

§ 45-33-31. Reregistration

(1)
(a) Registrants who are in compliance with a program of electronic monitoring under this chapter are required to reregister annually.

(b) All other registrants are required to personally appear at a Department of Public Safety Driver's License Station to reregister every
ninety (90) days.

(2) Reregistration includes the submission of current information and photograph to the department and the verification of
registration information, including the street address and telephone number of the registrant; name, street address and telephone
number of the registrant's employment or status at a school, along with any other registration information that may need to be
verified and the payment of any required fees.

(3) A person who fails to reregister and obtain a renewal sex offender registration card as required by this section commits a
violation of this chapter. The Department of Public Safety will immediately notify any sheriff or other jurisdiction of any changes in
information including residence address, employment and status at a school if that jurisdiction, county or municipality is affected by
the change.

Miss. Code Ann. § 45-35-3 (2011)

Issuance of identification card by Department of Public Safety; application for card; registered sex offender's card to identify
cardholder as sex offender

(1) Any person six (6) years of age or older may be issued an identification card by the department which is certified by the
registrant and attested by the commissioner as to true name, correct age and such other identifying data as required by Section 45-35-
5.

(2) The new, renewal or duplicate identification card of a person required to register as a sex offender pursuant to Section 45-33-25
shall bear a designation identifying the cardholder as a sex offender.

Miss. Code Ann. § 63-1-35 (2011)

Form of license; use of Social Security Number of licensee; photograph of licensee; renewal of license by electronic means;
registered sex offender's license to identify licensee as sex offender

(1) The Commissioner of Public Safety shall prescribe the form of licenses issued pursuant to this article which shall, among other
features, include a driver's license number assigned by the Department of Public Safety. A licensee shall list his social security
number with the department which shall cross reference the social security number with the driver's license number for purposes of
identification. Additionally, each license shall bear a full face color photograph of the licensee in such form that the license and the
photograph cannot be separated. The photograph shall be taken so that one (1) exposure will photograph the applicant and the
application simultaneously on the same film. The department shall use a process in the issuance of a license with a color photograph
that shall prevent as nearly as possible any alteration, counterfeiting, duplication, reproduction, forging or modification of the license
or the superimposition of a photograph without ready detection. The photograph shall be replaced by the department at the time of
renewal. Drivers' licenses, including photographs appearing thereon, may be renewed by electronic means according to rules and
regulations promulgated by the commissioner in conformity to Section 27-104-33.

(2) The commissioner shall prescribe the form of licenses issued pursuant to this article to licensees who are not United States
citizens and who do not possess a social security number issued by the United States government. The licenses of such persons shall
include a number and/or other identifying features.

(3) Any new, renewal or duplicate driver's license, temporary driving permit, intermediate license or commercial driver's license
issued to a person required to register as a sex offender pursuant to Section 45-33-25 shall bear a designation identifying the licensee
or permittee as a sex offender.

NEVADA

NRS 483.283 - Proof of compliance with certain statutory provisions required for issuance to or renewal of license of certain
criminal offenders; expiration of license; regulations.

1. The Department shall not issue a driver’s license to an offender or renew the driver’s license of an offender until the Department
has received information submitted by the Central Repository pursuant to NRS 179D.570 or other satisfactory evidence indicating
that the offender is in compliance with the provisions of chapter 179D of NRS.

2. If an offender is not in compliance with the provisions of chapter 179D of NRS, the Department:

(a) Shall not issue a driver’s license to the offender or renew the driver’s license of the offender; and
(b) Shall advise the offender to contact the Central Repository to determine the actions that the offender must take to be in
compliance with the provisions of chapter 179D of NRS.

3. A driver’s license issued to an offender expires on the first anniversary date of the offender’s birthday, measured in the case of an
original license, or a renewal license and a renewal of an expired license, from the birthday nearest the date of issuance or renewal.

4. The Department may adopt regulations to carry out the provisions of this section.

5. As used in this section:

(a) “Central Repository” means the Central Repository for Nevada Records of Criminal History.
(b) “Offender” includes an “offender convicted of a crime against a child” as defined in NRS 179D.0559 and a “sex offender” as
defined in NRS 179D.095.

NRS 483.861 - Proof of compliance with certain statutory provisions required for issuance to or renewal of card of certain criminal
offenders; expiration of card; regulations.

1. The Department shall not issue an identification card to an offender or renew the identification card of an offender until the
Department has received information submitted by the Central Repository pursuant to NRS 179D.570 or other satisfactory evidence
indicating that the offender is in compliance with the provisions of chapter 179D of NRS.

2. If an offender is not in compliance with the provisions of chapter 179D of NRS, the Department:

(a) Shall not issue an identification card to the offender or renew the identification card of the offender; and
(b) Shall advise the offender to contact the Central Repository to determine the actions that the offender must take to be in
compliance with the provisions of chapter 179D of NRS.

3. An identification card issued to an offender expires on the first anniversary date of the offender’s birthday, measured in the case
of an original identification card, a renewal identification card and a renewal of an expired identification card, from the birthday
nearest the date of issuance or renewal.

4. The Department may adopt regulations to carry out the provisions of this section.

5. As used in this section:

(a) “Central Repository” means the Central Repository for Nevada Records of Criminal History.
(b) “Offender” includes, without limitation, an “offender convicted of a crime against a child” as defined in NRS 179D.0559 and a
“sex offender” as defined in NRS 179D.095.

NRS 483.929 - Proof of compliance with certain statutory provisions required for issuance to or renewal of license of certain
criminal offenders; expiration of license; regulations.

1. The Department shall not issue a commercial driver’s license to an offender or renew the commercial driver’s license of an
offender until the Department has received information submitted by the Central Repository pursuant to NRS 179D.570 or other
satisfactory evidence indicating that the offender is in compliance with the provisions of chapter 179D of NRS.

2. If an offender is not in compliance with the provisions of chapter 179D of NRS, the Department:

(a) Shall not issue a commercial driver’s license to the offender or renew the commercial driver’s license of the offender; and
(b) Shall advise the offender to contact the Central Repository to determine the actions that the offender must take to be in
compliance with the provisions of chapter 179D of NRS.

3. A commercial driver’s license issued to an offender expires on the first anniversary date of the offender’s birthday, measured in
the case of an original license, a renewal license and a renewal of an expired license, from the birthday nearest the date of issuance or
renewal.

4. The Department may adopt regulations to carry out the provisions of this section.

5. As used in this section:

(a) “Central Repository” means the Central Repository for Nevada Records of Criminal History.
(b) “Offender” includes, without limitation, an “offender convicted of a crime against a child” as defined in NRS 179D.0559 and a
“sex offender” as defined in NRS 179D.095.

NORTH CAROLINA

N.C. Gen. Stat. Ann. § 20-9

(i) The Division shall not issue a drivers license to an applicant who has resided in this State for less than 12 months until the Division
has searched the National Sex Offender Public Registry to determine if the person is currently registered as a sex offender in another
state. The following applies in this subsection:

(1)If the Division finds that the person is currently registered as a sex offender in another state, the Division shall not issue a drivers
license to the person until the person submits proof of registration pursuant to Article 27A of Chapter 14 of the General Statutes
issued by the sheriff of the county where the person resides.

(2) If the person does not appear on the National Sex Offender Public Registry, the Division shall issue a drivers license but shall
require the person to sign an affidavit acknowledging that the person has been notified that if the person is a sex offender, then the
person is required to register pursuant to Article 27A of Chapter 14 of the General Statutes.

(3) If the Division is unable to access all states' information contained in the National Sex Offender Public Registry, but the person is
otherwise qualified to obtain a drivers license, then the Division shall issue the drivers license but shall first require the person to sign
an affidavit stating that: (i) the person does not appear on the National Sex Offender Public Registry and (ii) acknowledging that the
person has been notified that if the person is a sex offender, then the person is required to register pursuant to Article 27A of Chapter
14 of the General Statutes. The Division shall search the National Sex Offender Public Registry for the person within a reasonable
time after access to the Registry is restored. If the person does appear in the National Sex Offender Public Registry, the person is in
violation of G.S. 20-30, and the Division shall immediately revoke the drivers license and shall promptly notify the sheriff of the
county where the person resides of the offense.

(4) Any person denied a license or whose license has been revoked by the Division pursuant to this subsection has a right to file a
petition within 30 days thereafter for a hearing in the matter in the superior court of the county where the person resides, or to
petition the resident judge of the district or judge holding the court of that district, or special or emergency judge holding a court in
the district, and the court or judge is hereby vested with jurisdiction. The court or judge shall set the matter for hearing upon 30 days'
written notice to the Division. At the hearing, the court or judge shall take testimony and examine the facts of the case and shall
determine whether the petitioner is entitled to a license under this subsection and whether the petitioner is in violation of G.S. 20-30.

N.C. Gen. Stat. Ann. § 20-37.7. Special identification card.

(b1) Search National Sex Offender Public Registry. – The Division shall not issue a special identification card to an applicant who has
resided in this State for less than 12 months until the Division has searched the National Sex Offender Public Registry to determine if
the person is currently registered as a sex offender in another state. The following applies in this subsection:

(1) If the Division finds that the person is currently registered as a sex offender in another state, the Division shall not issue a special
identification card to the person until the person submits proof of registration pursuant to Article 27A of Chapter 14 of the General
Statutes issued by the sheriff of the county where the person resides.
(2) If the person does not appear on the National Sex Offender Public Registry, the Division shall issue a special identification card
but shall require the person to sign an affidavit acknowledging that the person has been notified that if the person is a sex offender,
then the person is required to register pursuant to Article 27A of Chapter 14 of the General Statutes.
(3) If the Division is unable to access all states' information contained in the National Sex Offender Public Registry, but the person is
otherwise qualified to obtain a special identification card, then the Division shall issue the card but shall first require the person to sign
an affidavit stating that: (i) the person does not appear on the National Sex Offender Public Registry and (ii) acknowledging that the
person has been notified that if the person is a sex offender, then the person is required to register pursuant to Article 27A of Chapter
14 of the General Statutes. The Division shall search the National Sex Offender Public Registry for the person within a reasonable
time after access to the Registry is restored. If the person does appear in the National Sex Offender Public Registry, the person is in
violation of G.S. 20-37.8, and the Division shall promptly notify the sheriff of the county where the person resides of the offense.

(4) Any person denied a special identification card by the Division pursuant to this subsection has a right to file a petition within 30
days thereafter for a hearing in the matter in the superior court of the county where the person resides, or to petition the resident
judge of the district or judge holding the court of that district, or special or emergency judge holding a court in the district, and the
court or judge is hereby vested with jurisdiction. The court or judge shall set the matter for hearing upon 30 days' written notice to
the Division. At the hearing, the court or judge shall take testimony and examine the facts of the case and shall determine whether the
petitioner is entitled to a special identification card under this subsection and whether the petitioner is in violation of G.S. 20-37.8.

OKLAHOMA

§47-6-105.3. Issuance of identification card – Fees.

E. When a person makes application for a new identification card, or makes application to renew an identification card, and the
person has been convicted of, or received a deferred judgment for, any offense required to register pursuant to the Sex Offenders
Registration Act, the identification card shall be valid for a period of one (1) year from the month of issuance, but may be renewed
yearly during the time the person is subject to registration on the Sex Offender Registry. The cost for such identification card shall be
the same as for other identification cards and renewals.

§47-6-111. Issuance of license or identification card – Temporary permit - Restricted commercial driver license - "Sex Offender"
license or card – Original, renewal or replacement of modified driving privileges

E.
1. The Department shall develop a procedure whereby a person applying for an original, renewal or replacement Class A, B, C or D
driver license or identification card who is required to register as a convicted sex offender with the Department of Corrections
pursuant to the provisions of the Sex Offenders Registration Act and who the Department of Corrections designates as an aggravated
or habitual offender pursuant to subsection J of Section 584 of Title 57 of the Oklahoma Statutes shall be issued a license or card
bearing the words "Sex Offender".

2. The Department shall notify every person subject to registration under the provisions of Section 1-101 et seq. of this title who
holds a current Class A, B, C or D driver license or identification card that such person is required to surrender the license or card to
the Department within one hundred eighty (180) days from the date of the notice.

3. Upon surrendering the license or card for the reason set forth in this subsection, application may be made with the Department for
a replacement license or card bearing the words "Sex Offender".

4. Failure to comply with the requirements set forth in such notice shall result in cancellation of the person's license or card. Such
cancellation shall be in effect for one (1) year, after which time the person may make application with the Department for a new
license or card bearing the words "Sex Offender". Continued use of a canceled license or card shall constitute a misdemeanor and
shall, upon conviction thereof, be punishable by a fine of not less than Twenty-five Dollars ($25.00), nor more than Two Hundred
Dollars ($200.00). When an individual is no longer required to register as a convicted sex offender with the Department of
Corrections pursuant to the provisions of the Sex Offenders Registration Act, the individual shall be eligible to receive a driver license
or identification card which does not bear the words "Sex Offender".

OK Stat. §47-6-115. Expiration and renewal of driver licenses.

G. When a person makes application for a driver license, or makes application to renew a driver license, and the person has been
convicted of, or received a deferred judgment for, any offense required to register pursuant to the Sex Offenders Registration Act,
the driver license shall be valid for a period of one (1) year from the month of issuance, but may be renewed yearly during the time
the person is registered on the Sex Offender Registry. The cost for such license shall be the same as for other driver licenses and
renewals.

TENNESSEE

TCA § 55-50-353

When the department issues or renews a driver license or photo identification card to a sexual offender, violent sexual offender or
violent juvenile sexual offender as required by § 40-39-213, the driver license or photo identification card shall bear a designation
sufficient to enable a law enforcement officer to identify the bearer of the license or card as a sexual offender, violent sexual offender
or violent juvenile sexual offender.

40-39-213. Possession of offender identification required.

(a) Every offender required to register pursuant to this part who is a resident of this state, and who is eligible, shall be responsible for
obtaining a valid driver license or photo identification card that has been properly designated by the department of safety pursuant to
§ 55-50-353. Every offender eligible to receive the license or identification card shall always have the license or identification card in
the offender's possession. If the offender is ineligible to be issued a driver license or photo identification card, the department shall
provide the offender some other form of identification card or documentation that, if it is kept in the offender's possession, will
satisfy the requirements of this section and § 55-50-353; such identification must be kept in the offender's possession at all times. If
any offender is determined to be indigent, an identification card or other documentation in lieu of an identification card shall be issued
to the offender at no cost.

(b) A violation of this section is a Class E felony punishable by fine only of not less than two hundred fifty dollars ($250).

(c) Every offender required to register pursuant to this part shall have obtained the documentation required by this section and
presented it to the offender's registering agency no later than sixty (60) days from the date in which such person is required to
register pursuant to this part.

(d) Notwithstanding any provision of this section to the contrary, no violent juvenile sexual offender shall be required to obtain a
photo identification card or a valid driver license that has been properly designated by the department of safety pursuant to § 55-50-
353, until such violent juvenile sexual offender attains eighteen (18) years of age.

TEXAS

Tex. Code Crim. Proc Art. 62.060

REQUIREMENTS RELATING TO DRIVER'S LICENSE OR PERSONAL IDENTIFICATION CERTIFICATE.  

(a) A person subject to registration under this chapter shall apply to the department in person for the issuance of, as applicable, an
original or renewal driver's license under Section 521.272, Transportation Code, an original or renewal personal identification
certificate under Section 521.103, Transportation Code, or an original or renewal commercial driver's license or commercial learner's
permit under Section 522.033, Transportation Code, not later than the 30th day after the date:

(1) the person is released from a penal institution or is released by a court on community supervision or juvenile probation; or
(2) the department sends written notice to the person of the requirements of this article.

(b) The person shall annually renew in person each driver's license or personal identification certificate issued by the department to
the person, including each renewal, duplicate, or corrected license or certificate, until the person's duty to register under this chapter
expires.

UTAH

Effective 1/1/2020
Utah Code 53-3-806.5.  Identification card required if offender does not have driver license.

(1)        
(a) If a person is required to register as a sex offender in accordance with Title 77, Chapter 41, Sex and Kidnap Offender Registry or
as a child abuse offender in accordance with Title 77, Chapter 43, Child Abuse Offender Registry, and the person does not hold a
current driver license in compliance with Section 53-3-205, the person shall obtain an identification card.
(b) The person shall maintain a current identification card during any time the person is required to register as a sex or child abuse
offender and the person does not hold a valid driver license.

(2) Failure to maintain a current identification card as required under Subsection (1) is a class A misdemeanor for each month of
violation of Subsection (1).


VIRGINIA

§ 46.2-330. Expiration and renewal of licenses; examinations required.

A. Every driver's license shall expire on the applicant's birthday at the end of the period of years for which a driver's license has been
issued. At no time shall any driver's license be issued for more than eight years or less than five years, unless otherwise provided by
law...  In determining the number of years for which a driver's license shall be renewed, the Commissioner shall take into
consideration the examinations, conditions, requirements, and other criteria provided under this title that relate to the issuance of a
license to operate a vehicle. Any driver's license issued to a person required to register pursuant to Chapter 9 (§ 9.1-900 et seq.) of
Title 9.1 shall expire on the applicant's birthday in years which the applicant attains an age equally divisible by five.

§ 46.2-341.9. Eligibility for commercial driver's license or commercial learner's permit.

A.
...No person shall be eligible for a Virginia commercial driver's license to drive a Type S vehicle, as defined in subsection B of § 46.2-
341.16, during any period in which he is a person for whom registration with the Sex Offender and Crimes Against Minors Registry
is required pursuant to Chapter 9 (§ 9.1-900 et seq.) of Title 9.1.

In determining the eligibility of any applicant for a Virginia commercial driver's license, the Department shall consider, to the extent
not inconsistent with federal law, the applicant's military training and experience.

A person for whom registration with the Sex Offender and Crimes Against Minors Registry is required pursuant to Chapter 9 (§ 9.1-
900 et seq.) of Title 9.1 may be issued a Virginia commercial driver's license to drive a Type P vehicle, as defined in subsection B of
§ 46.2-341.16, provided the commercial driver's license includes a restriction prohibiting the license holder from operating a
commercial vehicle to transport children to or from activities sponsored by a school or by a child day care facility licensed, regulated,
or approved by the Department of Education.

From Restrictions/ Endorsements listed at https://www.dmv.virginia.gov/drivers/#cdl_class.asp

Q - Prohibited from operating a commercial motor vehicle to transport children to or from activities sponsored by a school or by a
child day care facility licensed, regulated, or approved by the Virginia Department of Social Services.


WEST VIRGINIA

WV Code, §17B-2-3 - What persons may not be licensed; exceptions

(b) The division may not issue a license or nondriver identification card to any person required to register as a sexually violent
predator pursuant to the provisions of article twelve, chapter fifteen, unless he or she obtains a driver's license or nondriver
identification card coded by the commissioner to denote that he or she is a sexually violent predator as follows:

(1) If a person is judicially determined to be a sexually violent predator after the effective date of this section, the sentencing court
shall order the person or the agency with custody of the person's driver's license or nondriver identification card to surrender said
license or card to the court. The sentencing court shall forward to the division all driver's licenses or nondriver identification cards
that it receives pursuant to this section, along with a copy of the sentencing order. If a person is registered as a sexually violent
predator pursuant to section nine, article twelve, chapter fifteen of this code after the effective date of this section as amended and
reenacted during the first extraordinary session of the 2006 Legislature, the person shall surrender their driver's license or nondriver
identification card to the division within ten days of their registration with the State Police. Any replacement driver's license or
nondriver identification card issued to the person under this section must be coded by the commissioner to denote the person is a
sexually violent predator and shall be issued at no cost to the person.

(2) Within ten business days of the effective date of the amendments to this section made during the first extraordinary session of the
2006 Legislature, the State Police shall provide the division with the name, address and motor vehicle information of every person
registered as a sexually violent predator in the state at that time and also provide notice to said registrants of the requirements set
forth in said amendments. If a person is registered as a sexually violent predator prior to the effective date of this section, as
amended and reenacted during the first extraordinary session of the 2006 Legislature, he or she shall surrender his or her driver's
license or nondriver identification card to the division within ten business days of his or her receipt of the notice from the State Police
required by said amendments. Any replacement driver's license or nondriver identification card issued to the person under this section
must be coded by the commissioner to denote the person is a sexually violent predator and shall be issued at no cost to the person.

(c) Upon receipt of a driver's license or nondriver identification card from a sentencing court or individual pursuant to subsection (b)
of this section, the division shall cancel said license or card and note the cancellation in its records system so as to prevent the
issuance of a replacement or duplicate license or card lacking the coded notation required by subsection (b) of this section.

(d) Upon showing proof that a person is no longer required to register as a sexually violent predator, the division shall, at no charge,
issue a driver's license or nondriver identification card without the coded notation printed upon the license. No person issued a
driver's license or nondriver identification card pursuant to the amendments to this section made during the first extraordinary session
of the 2006 Legislature, may alter or deface the license or card to obscure the special marking identifying the holder as a sexually
violent predator.

(e) Any person failing to comply with the provisions of subsections (b), (c) or (d) is guilty of a misdemeanor and, upon conviction
thereof, shall be fined not less than $50 nor more than $500 or confined in jail not more than one year, or both fined and imprisoned.

FEDERAL:

22 U.S. Code § 212b.Unique passport identifiers for covered sex offenders

(a)In general
Immediately after receiving a written determination from the Angel Watch Center that an individual is a covered sex offender,
through the process developed for that purpose under section 21507 of title 34, the Secretary of State shall take appropriate action
under subsection (b).

(b)Authority to use unique passport identifiers

(1)In general
Except as provided under paragraph (2), the Secretary of State shall not issue a passport to a covered sex offender unless the
passport contains a unique identifier, and may revoke a passport previously issued without such an identifier of a covered sex
offender.

(2)Authority to reissue
Notwithstanding paragraph (1), the Secretary of State may reissue a passport that does not include a unique identifier if an individual
described in subsection (a) reapplies for a passport and the Angel Watch Center provides a written determination, through the
process developed for that purpose under section 21507 of title 34, to the Secretary of State that the individual is no longer required
to register as a covered sex offender.

(c)Defined terms
In this section—

(1)the term “covered sex offender” means an individual who—
(A)is a sex offender, as defined in section 21503(f) of title 34; and
(B)is currently required to register under the sex offender registration program of any jurisdiction;

(2)the term “unique identifier” means any visual designation affixed to a conspicuous location on the passport indicating that the
individual is a covered sex offender; and

(3)the term “passport” means a passport book or passport card.

(d)Prohibition
The Secretary of State, the Secretary of Homeland Security, and the Attorney General, and their agencies, officers, employees, and
agents, shall not be liable to any person for any action taken under this section.

(e)Disclosure
In furtherance of this section, the Secretary of State may require a passport applicant to disclose that they are a registered sex
offender.

(f)Effective date
This section shall take effect upon certification by the Secretary of State, the Secretary of Homeland Security, and the Attorney
General, that the process developed and reported to the appropriate congressional committees under section 21507 of title 34 has
been successfully implemented.
US PASSPORT MARK OF CAIN
ALABAMA'S FORMER "CRIMINAL SEX OFFENDER' STATE ID/DL, DECLARED
UNCONSTITUTIONAL IN 2019. NOW REPLACED WITH DIFFERENT MARK.